setting maximum hops

setting maximum hops

Postby mooseandpebs » November 19th, 2012, 1:15 pm

My iBootBar is accessible when I use the web interface on a computer hard wired into the switch which the ibootbar is on; however, if I'm on the wireless network coming into the switch via a cisco bridge it is in-accessible. Could it be a number of hops problem? I have no other problems with wireless access to anything else.
mooseandpebs
 
Posts: 2
Joined: October 5th, 2012, 5:15 pm

Re: setting maximum hops

Postby mooseandpebs » November 19th, 2012, 1:28 pm

Here are the tracert and ping stats.
My version of iBootbar software is: Rev 1.5d.275

computer that works:[/color]

C:\Users\administrator.IRISH>tracert 193.0.1.251

Tracing route to chiledogs.irish.mp [193.0.1.251]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 2 ms 1 ms 2 ms chiledogs.irish.mp [193.0.1.251]

Trace complete.

C:\Users\administrator.IRISH>ping -4 193.0.1.251

Pinging 193.0.1.251 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 193.0.1.251: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 193.0.1.251: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 193.0.1.251: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
Reply from 193.0.1.251: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 193.0.1.251:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 1ms

C:\Users\administrator.IRISH> telnet works


computer that doesn't work:
C:\Users\Administrator>tracert -4 193.0.1.251

Tracing route to chiledogs.irish.mp [193.0.1.251]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 14 ms 8 ms 6 ms chiledogs.irish.mp [193.0.1.251]

Trace complete.

C:\Users\Administrator>telnet chiledogs
Connecting To chiledogs...Could not open connection to the host, on port 23: Con
nect failed

C:\Users\Administrator>ping chiledogs

Pinging chiledogs.irish.mp [193.0.1.251] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 193.0.1.251: bytes=32 time=14ms TTL=64
Reply from 193.0.1.251: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=64
Reply from 193.0.1.251: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=64
Reply from 193.0.1.251: bytes=32 time=6ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 193.0.1.251:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 5ms, Maximum = 14ms, Average = 7ms

C:\Users\Administrator>telnet chiledogs 23
Connecting To chiledogs...Could not open connection to the host, on port 23: Con
nect failed
mooseandpebs
 
Posts: 2
Joined: October 5th, 2012, 5:15 pm

Re: setting maximum hops

Postby DP_Sam » November 29th, 2012, 2:16 pm

The hops should not be an issue.
What are the ipaddresses of the PC's involved ?
Have you tried telnet to the ipaddress directly instead of the name chiledogs ?
Did you terminate the telnet session of the first one before attempting to connect from the second ?

I would need a trace of the connection for somehting like wireshark to determine where the conneciton is failing.

If you wan to contact me directly to email a trace, please feel free to do so.
Sam Savoye
Dataprobe Tech Support
SSavoye@Dataprobe.com
DP_Sam
 
Posts: 123
Joined: January 21st, 2010, 9:39 am
Location: Allendale, NJ


Return to iBootBar

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron