no connect to NTP server

Post Reply
sterhv
Posts: 19
Joined: May 4th, 2014, 6:06 pm

no connect to NTP server

Post by sterhv » July 25th, 2016, 2:29 am

looks like after some time without internet connection getting an error

iBootBar > get time
Jan 2, 1980 19:39:12
ERROR: Could not contact the time server!
Time Server: 24.56.178.140
Use NTS: Yes

same error on both iBootBars
as a result, no timed events are working
server pings OK, changing server or rebooting iBootBars - no effect
toggling Use NTS off/on - no effect too

iBootBar > set time usents no
OK
iBootBar > set time usents yes
OK
iBootBar > get time
Jan 2, 1980 19:44:57
ERROR: Could not contact the time server!
Time Server: 24.56.178.140
Use NTS: Yes

any ideas ?
thanks in advance

DP_Sam
Posts: 124
Joined: January 21st, 2010, 9:39 am
Location: Allendale, NJ
Contact:

Re: no connect to NTP server

Post by DP_Sam » August 8th, 2016, 10:09 am

The iBootBar uses the TIME protocol (port 37) and not the more prevalent newer NTP (port 123).

If you are using your own server at 24.56.178.140 have the admin confirm it uses the TIME protocol on port 37 as well.
(most servers can be setup to support both.)

If you need a list of available servers online, this one is very handy.
http://tf.nist.gov/tf-cgi/servers.cgi

Sam
Sam Savoye
Dataprobe Tech Support
SSavoye@Dataprobe.com

sterhv
Posts: 19
Joined: May 4th, 2014, 6:06 pm

Re: no connect to NTP server

Post by sterhv » August 20th, 2016, 12:18 am

DP_Sam wrote:The iBootBar uses the TIME protocol (port 37) and not the more prevalent newer NTP (port 123).

If you are using your own server at 24.56.178.140 have the admin confirm it uses the TIME protocol on port 37 as well.
(most servers can be setup to support both.)

If you need a list of available servers online, this one is very handy.
http://tf.nist.gov/tf-cgi/servers.cgi

Sam
Thanks
I've set up local time server on port 37 by BTT Software Time Server http://www.bttsoftware.co.uk/timeserv.html
Works just fine

DP_Sam
Posts: 124
Joined: January 21st, 2010, 9:39 am
Location: Allendale, NJ
Contact:

Re: no connect to NTP server

Post by DP_Sam » October 17th, 2016, 11:15 am

Thanks.
Hopefully the link can help others.
Sam Savoye
Dataprobe Tech Support
SSavoye@Dataprobe.com

Post Reply